Oven Roasted Barbeque Chickpeas

My uncle Chris always says, “God bless the chickpea,” and I couldn’t agree more. I mean, why wouldn’t you love chickpeas? Reasons #1: Hummus. Reason #2: Hummus. Reason #3: Hummus. Reason #4-1,000,000: Hummus. 

Okay, there are more reasons to love chickpeas other than hummus. They are a good source of protein, especially for vegans or vegetarians, and also have fiber, folate, copper, iron and zinc. They are also really inexpensive. EN ESPANA, it’s like .51 euros for a jar, which is 1.5x as big as a US can. This is good for me because I am the kind of person who (if you follow me on Twitter, you already know this) doesn’t get their cracked iPhone screen fixed because it is equivalent to the price of a flight in Europe, and I’d rather travel (#wanderlustproblems). Okay, I’m actually putting off getting my phone fixed until after Carnival, because I’m scared I’m going to drop it sometime that week too…

Anyways, I’ve been experimenting with other ways to cook chickpeas specifically EN EL HORNO (in the oven). I’ve made a few recipes, but I wanted to share with you guys my favorite thus far. If you like chicken nuggets dipped in barbeque sauce, or anything barbeque flavored, this is for you! I LOVE chicken nuggets with barbeque sauce and when you roast chickpeas in the oven they get nice and crispy. Throw on some barbeque sauce, and it reminded me of chicken nuggets with barbeque sauce. Nommmssss.

Oven Roasted Barbeque Chickpeas 

Picture 52

Ingredients: 1 can or jar of chickpeas, 1/3 cup barbeque sauce (I used Hunts because it is the only kind I could find in Spain, but any kind would work)

Prep time: 10 minutes | Ready in: 45 minutes

Directions:
1.
Preheat oven to 225 degrees celcius (450 degrees farenheit)
2. Rinse chickpeas and pat dry completely with paper towel (VERY IMPORTANT TO DRY THEM THOROUGHLY…YOU DON’T WANT SOGGY CHICKPEAS)
Picture 55
3. Put dried chickpeas in bowl and mix in barbeque sauce. All chickpeas should be lightly coated in barbeque sauce. If they aren’t all coated, apply more as needed.
4. Place chickpeas on greased baking sheet. I covered my baking sheet with aluminum foil and then greased it (using the oil + paper towel method I talked about in this post…). Spread chickpeas out so they aren’t on top of each other.
Picture 53
5. Place baking sheet in oven for about 30-40 minutes. Each 10-15 minutes, use a spatula to move the chickpeas around and flip them so one side doesn’t get too burnt. You can also apply more barbeque sauce if you want (I applied a little more!).
6. OPTIONAL: Take multiple selfies and send snapchats in the kitchen while they are cooking because you are bored/clearly overly excited about the chickpeas.

SELFIE DE CONCINA

SELFIE DE CONCINA

7. Remove from oven and let cool. Once cool, enjoy plain or add them to another dish! I added mine to a salad (featured in my “What I Ate Wednesday” post)! It reminded me of a barbeque chicken salad, but it was with chickpeas so vegetarian friendly! You can save any leftovers in a tupperware in the fridge for 5-6 days and they will be fine (they won’t be as crispy/crunch, but they will still taste good!).

Mixed greens and spinach with sweet potato, tomato, avocado, feta and OVEN ROASTED BARBEQUE CHICKPEAS!

Mixed greens and spinach with sweet potato, tomato, avocado, feta and OVEN ROASTED BARBEQUE CHICKPEAS!

Nutrition: 1/4 cup serving contains
87 kCal | 2.7g fat | 27.1 g carbohydrates | 2.5 g dietary fiber | 4 g protein

Most of the sugar in this recipe comes from the barbeque sauce, so depending on the brand or kind you buy, you can lower the sugar and carbohydrates. I really enjoyed these because they are very versatile. You can snack on them plain, or add them to dishes. Along with a salad, I think they would be really good on top of a baked sweet potato or in a pita with lettuce, tomato, and avocado. They are also nice and crispy!! Roasting the chickpeas in the oven gives them a whole new taste! If you didn’t know that these were also an ingredient in hummus, you would never guess after eating them roasted.

Also, you can adjust the recipe depending on how many you want to bake. Last, I’ve said it before, but I prefer plant based protein and believe that if you get more protein from plant based sources, it is healthier. I am a huge fan of chickpeas as a plant based protein! They have a different texture than most other beans like black and red beans, and as I’ve learned from experimenting with them, they are very versatile for cooking! After you make this recipe, I’m sure you’ll also be saying, “God bless the chickpea.”

**

Do you like chickpeas? What is your favorite way to eat them? 

2 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Barbeque Chickpeas

    • Yay glad you like it so far! I’m just beginning to blog about health and wellness, but am really enjoying it!! The chickpeas were one of my favorite recipes I’ve made so far! I definitely recommend them!

Tell me what you think!

