Think Pink! Quinoa Style

Hi loves!

I hope you had a good Monday. Mine was filled with a whole lot of nothing. The day after I get home from a trip (whether it is a weekend, week or month), I am always exhausted and need a full day of recovery from traveling. I only moved today to go to work and the grocery store (*judges self*). I still need to figure out how to recover from a trip more effectively than submersing myself into the Netflix movie Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas.

Grab your tissues y'all.

Grab your tissues y’all. 

But this movie was so good. Tear jerker. Grab a box of tissues if you are going to watch it. And maybe chocolate. And maybe, maybe wine. Definitely wine.

Looking back, I guess I did more than watch this movie and work today. I also had my roommates try my peanut butter banana energy bites. When I opened the tupperware to have them try one, they were so hesitant. But after they ate them, they were shocked by how good they were! Eating healthy does not mean it’s going to taste gross. Then, I had my spanish roommate try a date because she’d never had one (I’ve been making homemade Larabars with dates! Nommsssss). She wasn’t a fan. You can’t win them all lol.

Okay, so this is a really random blog post but I also wanted to post a recipe of a food I’ve featured on my Instagram and my “What I’m Loving” posts. It’s PINK QUINOA! QUE MONO!

Pink Quinoa with Beets and Goat Cheese 

Picture 49

Ingredients: 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, 1-3/4 cup vegetable broth, 1/2 cup canned or jarred beets, 1/2 cup beet juice (from the can or jar of beets), 1/4 cup goat cheese

Prep time: 35 minutes | Ready in: 65 minutes

Directions: Measure out 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa and put in a pan with 2 cups vegetable broth (you can use water too, but I prefer vegetable juice as I think it adds more flavor). Let quinoa soak in vegetable broth for about 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, turn the heat on high and bring quinoa to a boil. Once boiled, reduce to a simmer and allow quinoa to cook until the vegetable broth is absorbed into the quinoa. Add lid if you want. This should take about 20 minutes. After it is done, allow quinoa to cool and move it into the fridge for about 30 minutes. While quinoa is cooling in the fridge, cut 1/2 cup beets and 1/4 cup goat cheese. When quinoa is cool, take out of the fridge and add the beets and goat cheese to quinoa. Last, pour in about 1/2 cup beet juice from the beets (use your own judgement, you don’t want it to be soupy, but you want it to have a nice pink color). Enjoy plain or on a bed of greens. I ate mine with spinach!
Note: I cooked my quinoa the night before and let it cool in the fridge all day before preparing this.

Nutrition: 4 servings, 1/2 cup each, 1 serving contains
206 kCal | 8.6g fat | 20.1 g carbohydrates | 2.3 g dietary fiber | 12 g protein

I really like the nutrition facts of this recipe. Good balance of fat, carbs (high in fiber) and protein. I also love this recipe because it’s colorful! Any natural food that has a rich color is generally rich in nutrients. Beets are a deep pink color and are full of antioxidants. I love learning about antioxidants because they are a newer discovery (relatively speaking) in nutrition and medicine. We have known about vitamins and minerals for a long time, but the health benefits of many antioxidants is still being researched today. Beets contain polyphenols and betalains. Along with antioxidants, they also are very nutrient dense in folate (arguably, the MOST important nutrient for pregnant women as it helps prevent spinal bifida), manganese, potassium, copper, fiber, phosphorus, vitamin C, iron and vitamin B6. Aside from the nutrition benefits of eating beets, I think I liked this recipe best because it was pink.

But really.

But really. 

How do you recover from a trip? What is your favorite way to eat quinoa? 

4 thoughts on “Think Pink! Quinoa Style

    • It was so good! I love beets because they are sweet and goat cheese is just amazing in everything. So easy to prepare if you make the quinoa the night before. It literally took me like 5 minutes :)

Tell me what you think!

