My Other Passion

So obviously, if you’re reading this (all five of you), you know that traveling is one of my passions. But I’ve always had another passion in my life: nutrition, health & wellness (okay that’s three things, but you get it). I studied nutrition and psychology in college, and even wrote a thesis about nutrition in school lunch rooms my senior year. Lately, I’ve been missing nutrition, so to make up for missing it, I’ve been reincorporating it into my life in different ways than I did when I studied in college. I’m sure my five readers right now are wondering, “How??”. By cooking with whole foods, exploring new recipes, exercising more, lifting heavy things (me, weightlifting? I know…), reading (small) books about wellness (in spanish), etc.

So what does this mean? Well, I’ve been posting a lot of pictures on my Instagram lately of things I’m cooking and have received a good response (aka lots of HEARTS…love you guys muah, besos!), so now I want to start blogging about nutrition, health & wellness as well as travel.

I’m sure other people who live in Spain or have moved abroad can relate to me when I say eating healthy abroad can be a challenge. It can be challenging for a multitude of reasons and I found it especially challenging my first few months here. The grocery stores here don’t have the same foods and it’s all in a different language. You don’t think it will be a problem until you’re in the grocery store and you realize you have no idea what “flour” is in spanish and there are a bunch of bags that look like they could contain flour, but to your knowledge, you could be buying a bag of something completely different. Or even when you know the word, but the translation isn’t correct. For example, the other day I was looking for cocoa powder (cacao en polvo) and the lady took me to  Cola Coa, which is basically Nesquick and also what all the ninos here live off (literally all the ninos have blood type: Cola Coa). I explained that it was for cakes (posteria) but she just had no idea what I was talking about.

One food that I have missed in Spain is Kashi products. In college, I lived off Kashi granola bars, but here they don’t have a wide selection and the ingredient list on them is LONG. Ingredient lists shouldn’t be long. The general rule for ingredient lists is, the longer they are, the more processed and unhealthy they are. So, after months of missing my beloved Kashi TLC Trail Mix granola bars, I decided to try making my own….So here it is, my first recipe on wanderlustkait!! Ahh!!

Picture 17

Ingredients: 1/2 c honey, 1/2 c peanut butter, 1 c museli with dried fruit/nuts
[Spain readers: I got the peanut butter and museli at Lidl (2.5 euros). You can also buy peanut butter at Corte Ingles Supermercado (4.5 euros), but it’s more expensive]

Picture 19

Prep time: 5 minutes | Ready in: 30 minutes

Picture 20

Directions:

  1. Microwave peanut butter and honey in a bowl for 20 seconds
  2. Mix peanut butter and honey to make a uniform consistency
  3. Mix in museli
  4. In a pan or square shaped tupperware that is greased (you can use cooking spray, or if you live in Spain and haven’t found it, I just put a little oil on a paper towel and spread it in a tupperware), add the mixture
  5. Flatten the mixture with a spoon so that when you cut it, it will look like granola bars
  6. Place pan or tupperware in freezer for 30 minutes
  7. Cut & enjoy!

**Note: I stored these in the fridge after freezing them first

Nutrition facts: 6 servings, 1 serving contains:
266 kCal | 10.8g fat | 40.5 g carbohydrates | 3 g dietary fiber | 6.8 g protein
**Note: you could cut them smaller to lesson calories, etc.

Picture 18

Thoughts: They turned out really well and definitely hit the craving I had for a good, granola bar. They were really sweet!! So, if you have a sweet tooth, these are for you. I think next time, I might try less honey and more nut butter. The crunchiness of the museli and dried fruit/nuts reminded me of the Kashi TLC Bar, but the honey and peanut butter base gave the bar a softness that reminded me of a Cliff Bar. So I would say these are a mix between Kashi TLC Trail Mix Bars and Cliff Peanut Butter Crunch Bars. The nutrition facts are similar to cliff bars. I ate one of these before doing a long run and it fueled me well for the run. The sugar carbohydrates from honey are simple carbohydrates and available quickly for energy, which makes these good for a pre workout snack. They would be good for breakfast on the go as well! 

I’m excited to make different variations of granola bars now that I have a basic recipe. I hope you enjoyed my first nutrition/food post! If you make this recipe, let me know how it turns out and your thoughts!

**

What is your favorite kind of granola bar? What is your go-to breakfast on the go food? 

5 thoughts on “My Other Passion

    • Ahh thanks for the reblog chica!! I definitely recommend them, and they are easily customizable! So you could add pretty much anything, like chocolate chips or almonds, etc :) They are super sweet though!

  1. Pingback: Oven Roasted Barbeque Chickpeas | Wanderlust Kait

Tell me what you think!

