Beauty Tips for Girls Coming to Espana

So it’s been awhile, am I right? I’m much better at instagramming pictures than I am blogging. Anyways, today I was thinking about all the beauty struggles I’ve gone through in Spain and I wanted to write a post for future auxiliares or girls living in Spain with some tips. Some of the tips might seem obvious to people who have been living in Spain, but I mean, just the fact that Spain doesn’t have Walgreens or CVS’s that are open 24 hours a day was enough to throw me for a loop in the beginning. So here was go:

click for source

1. Shampoo/conditioner/normal products can be found at your local grocery store. Check there for things before going to Corte Ingles or a beauty specific store (perfumerias) because it’s cheaper.

2. Buy your hair dye in the USA and bring it over. The hair dyes over here are different. For example, I love Garnier hair dye products, but in Spain they have a different line of products that aren’t semi-permanent and are just completely different.

3. Don’t get blonde highlights over here. They don’t understand toning. I had yellow hair when I got my hair highlighted here because they didn’t tone it. Thankfully, I met an American girl who does hair over here, so she’s been doing my hair and understands how to do natural blonde highlights, not yellow brassy ones.

4. If you can’t find it, go to Corte Ingles or Sephora. 

5. You are going to have to try new brands. I love Jergans natural glow lotion, but they don’t carry it here. So, I just decided to try a different brand and it was fine.

6. Pay attention during tv commercials and read spanish beauty magazines. Just watching tv and seeing commercials, I learn about products. Off the topic of beauty, I’ve been DYING for greek yogurt similar to Chobani. I was watching TV the other day and there was a commercial for yogurt with 2x the protein in different flavors called Dani (made by Danon), but I was like YES FINALLY THE AMERICAN VERSION OF GREEK YOGURT. Next thing I knew, I was in Eroski and there it was! Don’t make the rookie mistake of thinking “Griego” yogurt is American greek yogurt, because it definitely is not. It’s gross and runny and pretty bad for you.

7. Bring powder deodorant and dry shampoo from the USA. Also, the only face wash choice I have over here is Clean & Clear, and there’s barely a selection. I haven’t seen Neutrogena or Cetaphil products (my go to at home) anywhere, so if you are really particular about your face products, I suggest bringing them from the USA. 

8. Buy a straightener over here. When I first came over and was backpacking, I remember being super excited to be in Ireland and was getting ready to go out for the first night in Europe, so I needed to straighten my hair. Well, I plugged it in (with a plug adaptor) and started straightening my hair. Next thing I know, there is black smoke and it smells like my hair is burning. Thankfully, it was just the straightener and I didn’t end up like this girl…

But my wand does work over here! I use a plug adaptor with it, but for some reason it does. The brand is hot tools.

9. Primark and Chinos can have great beauty tools. I got some great eye shadow brushes, loofa and nail stuff from Primark and it’s super cheap. But I mean, you can’t buy foundation or mascara there and expect a good result.

10. Take advantage of the cheap waxing here. A brazilian wax is 14 euros. Enough said. 

Hope this helps for any chicas coming to Spain soon! :) Ask me if you have any other questions. I didn’t want to write too long of a post, but I could probably write 4x as much as a did here about beauty in Spain!

2 thoughts on “Beauty Tips for Girls Coming to Espana

    • Yes! I went to Yves Rocher and it was 15euros for a Brazilian. They are all over Bilbao. I went to the one in Duesto, but I had friends who lived in Indauxtu and Barakaldo and they went to them there and had good experiences! I think the one in Indauxtu has an english speaker who does waxes there. Hope this helps! Buena suerte!

Tell me what you think!

