3 Ingredient Lowfat, High Protein Hummus

Buenas dias!

How good does this look? Scroll down for the recipe! Nommsss.

How good does this look? Scroll down for the recipe! Nommsss.

It’s really nice here in Bilbao today! No rain, 55 degrees and sunny. Yesterday I was really busy teaching all day. But I got to wear my really cute new shirt from Zara, so it was okay.

Zara, I love you.

Zara, I love you.

Yesterday was exhausting because I teach ALL day. After school I teach a private lesson too, which makes my day around a 12 hours day. I had to run to Corte Ingles after my private lesson and THE BEST THING EVER HAPPENED. I found Starbucks lattes. I obviously had to buy one, and this is how I started my day today:

It's like I never left the states, except I bought the Starbucks at a mercado and Cosmo is in Spanish.......

It’s like I never left the states, except I bought the Starbucks at a mercado and Cosmo is in Spanish…….

And yes, that’s still the same magazine I’ve been reading since last week. The funny thing about buying magazines in Spain is a February issue actually takes me all of February to get through since I’m still learning Spanish. In the USA, I breeze through magazines in about 20 minutes.

Anyways, once I week, I usually make hummus and eat it all week long. I’m a hummus addict and you don’t want to see me when I run out of hummus…I get HANGRY. I ran out of hummus Thursday, so today was the day to replenish. I was so busy snapping pictures (and maybe dancing to One Direction in the kitchen….) so I could post the recipe for my normal hummus, that I forgot a main ingredient (olive oil)!! I didn’t even realize until I was eating it and the rest was already in a tupperware container in the fridge. But it tasted great, so I wanted to share this accidental recipe I stumbled upon today!

3 Ingredient Low Fat, High Protein Hummus

Picture 70

Ingredients: 2.5 cups chickpeas, 1/3 cup lowfat greek yogurt (purchased at Lidl for Spain readers), 1/4 cup lemon juice (juice of 1 or 2 lemons)

Picture 71

Prep time: 5 minutes | Ready in: 10 minutes

Directions:
Rinse 2.5 cups chickpeas and pat dry with paper towel. Cut and squeeze juice from lemon. Put all ingredients in a blender. Blend until smoothness desired. Store in air tight container in fridge for up to a week. Enjoy with sliced vegetables, pita chips or on a salad (my favorite way).

Nutrition: 1/4 cup serving contains
100 kCal | 1.8g fat | 15.8 g carbohydrates | 4.3 g dietary fiber | 5.4 g protein
(Compared to Sabra Hummus, 1/4 cup contains 140 kCal, 10 g fat, 8g carb and 4 g protein)

Picture 72

This hummus has a tangy taste, but the greek yogurt still makes it really creamy and the lemon enhances the flavor! I usually add some olive oil into mine, but it totally slipped my mind today and this recipe happened! I plugged in the recipe to get the nutrition facts and was pleasantly surprised to see how much protein it has and how lowfat it is. I would recommend it to anyone who loves hummus but is trying to cut down on fats or increase protein in their diet. In my opinion, pretty much everything tastes better with hummus and if you don’t love hummus I just don’t think we can be friends…. 

Me, every day. (click for source)

**

Do you love hummus? Do you make your own hummus or buy it? What’s your favorite store to shop at? Spain readers, what’s your favorite store in Spain to shop at? 

4 thoughts on “3 Ingredient Lowfat, High Protein Hummus

  1. Yessss this is always how I make my hummus (plus salt, pepper, and siracha, if I’m feeling saucy) and it’s great cuz you can eat the whole thing and not consume a tub of olive oil.

Tell me what you think!

