Auxiliar de Conversación Program in Spain

Hello loves!

So the most common question I get is people asking me what program I do in Spain. So I decided to just do a general post about the program and my experience thus far. The program is called North American Language and Culture Assistant or in spanish, the Auxiliar de Conversacion Program. It is done through the Spanish government. There are about 2,000 (mostly) Americans that come to Spain each year to work in schools around the country. I work 12 hours a week and get a stipend of 700 euros ($950) a month, tax free (Or if you are in Madrid, you work 16 hours and get 1000 euros ($1350)). I am over here on a student visa, and the work I am doing is considered “graduate” work (lol don’t ask me how Spain swung this one…).

My basic role in the classroom is a language assistant, so I will take half of the class and do complementary activities with them, mostly relating to pronunciation and speaking. Sometimes, I lesson plan, sometimes I grade papers, sometimes I sub a class, sometimes I get called off work…for a whole week, sometimes I don’t do much in class, sometimes I teach German exchange students, sometimes I drink wine with colleagues in the middle of the day…….If you can’t tell, my job isn’t really defined. And that is the most important thing I think anyone who is considering this program needs to know. There isn’t much regulation and it can be a real hit or miss, depending on your school placement. Luckily, my school director/boss is awesome!! He’s been so helpful and if I need help with anything, he is a great resource and so helpful. One day, I was talking about needing to go to the dentist, and he offered to take me to his dentist for a consultation. So helpful.

When you apply, you preference what region you want and what the size of the city or pueblo you want and the age of the students you want to teach. Then, the Spanish government assigns school placements. I’m honestly not even sure they look at the applications. I preferenced Catalonia, Valencia and Madrid and said I wanted to live in a big city and got placed in Pais Vasco and my school is in a pueblo (note: I later found out Catalonia and Valencia were no longer participating in the program due to budget cuts). But hey, it all turned out good!

To apply you need to be a college graduate or completing your final semester of school and have proof (ex: transcripts). The prefer some spanish language classes (not a strict requirement, I only had one semester in college). You also need a letter of recommendation and a letter of intent. It’s an easy application. The only hard part is it’s in spanish and the website they use for it is a little difficult. I’m talking about you, profex. 

After you get a placement, you have five days to accept or reject the placement. Placements usually aren’t given out until the end of April or May. People still receive placements through August and September. The biggest factor in receiving a placement is your inscrita number (aka your application number). This program is on a first come, first serve basis. So if you’re even thinking about doing it, apply and then think after. 

Also, talking about the money. The stipend doesn’t seem like a lot because you really aren’t working that much. I remember when I told me dad about it, he about fell over and told me it would be impossible. Luckily, because you aren’t working that much, you have plenty of time to pick up private classes, which are so easy to find (through fellow auxiliares, through Facebook groups, the school, tusclasesparticulares.com). I currently teach around 10-12 hours extra of private lessons a week and charge 15-25euros ($20-$34)/hour, depending on the kind of class it is. So if money is what you’re worried about, don’t let that factor into the decision. It was what I was most worried about, but I’ve gotten here and I’m fine! I mean, I definitely budget and don’t shop at Louis Vuitton, but I’m not struggling. Cost of living here is also a lot cheaper than in the USA.

My experience so far has been good, but it is definitely what you make out of it. It is a very independent program. I consider myself a very independent person, but at times, it’s been very challenging for me. But I would recommend this program to anyone who wants to live abroad, travel, experience new things, improve/learn spanish. And at the end of the day, it’s only 8 months (9 if you are in Madrid). The time flies!

I’ve made some great friends who are also auxiliares and consider them my family here in Bilbao :) The coolest thing about this program, is the people you meet who are also auxiilares are very similar to you and it’s really easy to relate to them. Having a good group of friends here is the #1 thing you need. Yeah, you need to set up a bank account and get a metro card and a piso, but at the end of the day, my friends here have made the difference!

Anyways, here is the website for the program: http://www.mecd.gob.es/eeuu/convocatorias-programas/convocatorias-eeuu/auxiliares-conversacion-eeuu.htmlThe application period opened January 9 and is open until April 1. APPLY APPLY APPLY if you are even considering doing the program, because I think inscrita numbers are already pretty high. 

There is also a Facebook group for auxiliares. JOIN AT YOUR OWN RISK. People argue and post about dumb things and it’s mildly entertaining but also annoying. Definitely turn off your notifications for the group. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Along with this post, this website is also a pretty good resource for what to expect if you decide to do this program…. http://whatshouldwecallauxiliares.tumblr.com/ lol.

Let me know if you have any other questions about the program! You can comment or email me. 

En serio, si estas pensado sobre haciendo la programa, aplicas!!!! 

Tell me what you think!

