Vamos a San Sebastian!

So after having my first real “work week” teaching English, I left Bilbao for the weekend and went to San Sebastian! It’s really easy to get to San Sebastian from Bilbao. The bus ticket was only 11 euros and it’s an hour bus ride. The bus ride to get there is so scenic, that even though I wanted to sleep during it (because I am literally always tired…even with the siestas I’ve been taking!) I couldn’t. Basque Country is so beautiful. The highways wind through the lush mountains and sometimes I feel like I’m in a dream whenever I’m visiting different cities.

Anyways, we got to San Sebastian and lucky for us, we had our own tour guide who lives near San Sebastian to take us around the city (Thanks Keno!)! We walked from the bus station to our hostel, which was in Parte Vieja (the old town). San Sebastian is literally on the beach, so just walking to our hostel, we could see the ocean! We also saw Buen Pastor Cathedral. I haven’t seen that many cathedrals in Bilbao, so it was cool to see one in San Sebastian. When Lindsay and I backpacked Europe, I felt like a lot of our sightseeing was cathedrals, so it’s always interesting to see new ones to compare with the others around Europe.sscath1 sscath2Just taking the 30 minute walk to the hostel, I realized what a beautiful city San Sebastian is. I could have lived in San Sebastian instead of Bilbao, because the school I teach at is right in the middle of the two cities. I ended up choosing Bilbao because I found a really great family to aupair with and wanted to be in a bigger city (Bilbao is more of a city while San Sebastian is more of a beachy town). A part of me was really scared to visit San Sebastian and have regrets that I didn’t live there. GOOD NEWS…I don’t regret living in Bilbao, I just know where I want to live next ;).

We walked through Gros to visit Playa de Zurriola which is the “surfer’s beach” because it has more of a tide and waves.sszuriolaAfter that, it was time for some vino and pinxtos. San Sebastian is also known for having some of the best pinxtos in Basque Country. I had a tortilla y vino blanco, but later in the night I had croquette pintxos and they were the BEST ONES I’VE HAD IN SPAIN.sspixyvinoAfter eating, we visited Playa de La Concha. It was a beautiful day, so people were all over the beach, just sleeping. Reason #2678423 I love Spain is it is completely normal to just lay on the beach fully clothed and siesta. Or, you don’t have to wear anything if you don’t want. I did see a man completely naked just changing into his speedo on the beach. So that’s fine too…….ssconchaWe also walked along the coast, near Monte Urgull Media. I’ll let the pictures do the talking for how pretty it was: sscoast3 sscoast ssconchacoast ssbuildling

That night, we went out to Parte Vieja and the discoteca on the beach. I also had my first sangria this visit in Spain (since Barcelona back in May). I really liked the bars in Parte Vieja–they had good music, good drinks and good people. At one of the bars, I told a group of people I was an English teacher and got swarmed by a group of spaniards just asking me a bunch of English related questions. It’s hard to explain the difference between “I will arrive at…” and “I will get there at…” after a few glasses of vino, and mostly because there is no difference. There is a million ways to say the same thing in English. You don’t realize this until you try to teach it.

Overall, San Sebastian was amazing and I plan on going back a lot this year. For being so beautiful, it isn’t toursity and seems relatively undiscovered which I like. I still want to hike and visit the different parts of town, since I only saw the main parts this first time.ssprost

Great weekend with great new friends :) Prost (as the German boys taught me was “cheers!” in German) to San Sebastian!

3 thoughts on “Vamos a San Sebastian!

  1. Living vicariously through you. Sounds like you’re having an amazing time! I’m so jealous! You’re seirously starting to convince me to take a year off and do the same ahhh! Also, I’ve been following this girl’s blog for a few years now, and she taught english in Barcelona and Madrid, so you should check it out! Lots of good advice! http://www.lamiavitablog.com/
    -Kelsey :)

  2. Pingback: The Spain Struggle | Wanderlust Kait

  3. Pingback: 2013: A Year of Travel! | Wanderlust Kait

Tell me what you think!

